Quick Search

About Us

The Society of London Art Dealers was founded in 1932 to promote and protect the good name and interests of the art trade, and to enhance public confidence in responsible fine art dealing. Its members, around 100, have a proven reputation in their field and have signed an undertaking to observe high standards of fair and honest dealing.


Membership of the Society is open to firms throughout the United Kingdom engaged in the sale of all forms of the visual arts. Membership covers a huge range of disciplines within the visual arts but is restricted to companies invited and vetted by the Executive Committee. To be considered for membership a dealer must have been in business for at least three years and have a high reputation for honesty and integrity, and expert knowledge of the artists or periods in which he or she specialises.


The Society has a vital role to play in representing the interests of its members in discussions with the government and other professional bodies on current issues concerning the art trade. These issues are wide ranging but cover highly important topics such as Droit de Suite, VAT legislation and regulations concerning the import and export of artworks throughout the world. The Society is also there to provide its members with specialist advice on taxation and legal matters. It publishes a quarterly newsletter, a directory of members, and numerous information sheets on topics of essential interest to the art trade.

Cooperation with other Organisations

The Society is a founder member of the British Art Market Federation (the Director General is its ex officio Secretary), which was set up in 1996 to represent the interests of the art trade as a whole in discussion with the government and other bodies. The Society also cooperates closely with its sister organisations, The British Antique Dealer’s Association (BADA) and the Association of Art and Antique Dealers (LAPADA), with whom it has regular discussions on a wide range of matters.


The Society is a member of Confederation Internationale de Negociants en Oeuvres d’Art (CINOA) and the Federation of European Art Galleries Associations (FEAGA). It also has close relations with the Art Dealers Association of America (ADAA) and with the French Syndicat des Antiquaires.


The Society runs an up to date website at www.slad.org.uk giving details of all its member firms with direct links to their own websites listing the names of the artists they deal in and in many cases details of items of stock, upcoming exhibitions etc

List of Former SLAD Chairmen


Gustav Mayer – P.D. Colnaghi & Co


Dudley Tooth – Arthur Tooth & Sons


Percy Moore Turner


Hugh Agnew – Thomas Agnew & Sons


Sir Hugh Leggatt – Leggatt Brothers


Sir Geoffrey Agnew – Thomas Agnew & Sons


Godfrey Pilkington – The Piccadilly Gallery


Sir Jack Baer – Hazlitt, Gooden & Fox


John Baskett – Baskett & Day


Andrew McIntosh Patrick – The Fine Art Society


Julian Agnew – Thomas Agnew & Son


David Posnett – The Leger Gallery


Sir Thomas Lighton – Waddington Galleries Ltd


The Hon Michael Tollemache – Michael Tollemache Fine Art


Sir Thomas Lighton – Waddington Galleries Ltd


Johnny Van Haeften – Johnny Van Haeften Ltd


Angela Nevill – Nevill Keating Pictures Ltd


 Patrick Bourne – The Fine Art Society Plc


The Committee

The business and affairs of the Society are governed and managed by an Executive Committee which consists of the following:

David Juda
Annely Juda Fine Art (Chairman)

Christopher Kingzett (Vice-Chairman)
Christopher Kingzett Fine Art

Simon Lee
Simon Lee Gallery (Vice-Chairman)

Alan Cristea
Alan Cristea Gallery Ltd (Hon. Treasurer)

Emanuel von Baeyer
Emanuel von Baeyer London

Katrin Bellinger

Robert Bowman
Bowman Sculpture

Ben Brown
Ben Brown Fine Arts Ltd

Toby Campbell
Rafael Valls Ltd

Rachel Elwes
Ben Elwes Fine Art

Hugh Gibson
Thomas Gibson Fine Art

Cornelia Grassi

John Green
Richard Green (Fine Paintings) Ltd

Lowell Libson
Lowell Libson Ltd

Robin Light
Crane Kalman Gallery Ltd

Rupert Maas
The Maas Gallery Ltd

Nicholas Maclean
Eykyn Maclean Ltd

James Roundell
Simon C Dickinson

Graham Southern

Alexandra Toscano
Trinity Fine Art Ltd

Christopher Battiscombe
Director General

Annick Chanon

Julian Agnew
Sir Jack Baer
Sir Thomas Lighton
Lady Angela Nevill
The Hon Michael Tollemache
Johnny Van Haeften